How to change your iPhone’s name

Posted on

How to change your iPhone’s name  – Believe it or not, your iPhone has a name. Yes, you can affectionately call it your “lovesick little one,” but it has a formal, findable name that is lit like a billboard and seen by all networks and devices. For privacy reasons, you may want to give it a secret identity.

Changing the visible name of your iPhone is just a good idea for security and privacy, but it’s also great fun spicing things up if you’re just fed up with the yawning name. This guide will teach you how to change the name of your iPhone and where it is most likely to be visible to others.

How to change your iPhone’s name

Changing the name of your iPhone is a breeze. It can be anything you want, although you want to avoid choosing something potentially offensive or alarming because it will be seen in public. How to change it:

  • Step 1: Tap here to open the settings
  • Step 2: Tap on General.
  • Step 3: Tap on Info.
  • Step 4: Tap on Name.
  • Step 5: On the next screen, you will see the keyboard overlay. Tap the backspace button to delete the old name, then tap a new name in the text box.
  • Step 6: Tap Done on the keyboard or Info in the top left corner to complete the process.
  • Where does my iPhone name appear?

Changing the name of your iPhone is ideal for privacy or security reasons as it can be recognized by all networks and devices.

For example, if you use an iPhone as your personal hotspot in public, anyone looking for a Wi-Fi connection will see the name “Simon’s iPhone” – or worse, “Simon Chandler’s iPhone” – on the list. You are not only visible to hackers via Wi-Fi, but also via Bluetooth and AirDrop. Strangers and weirdos now know your name and the device you have on hand, which is a little scary to be honest.

If you don’t want your iPhone to be visible even after changing its name, there are a few things you can change here as needed.

Personal hotspot

  • Step 1: Tap to open the settings.
  • Step 2: Tap on Personal Hotspot.
  • Step 3: Tap the switch next to Allow others to join to disable this feature.

AirDrop

AirDrop is an ad hoc network created between Apple devices. The sender uses bluetooth to find a local receiver device and the receiver creates the peer-to-peer WiFi network. Since Bluetooth is a component, other Apple devices can see your iPhone’s name.

  • Step 1: Tap to open the settings.
  • Step 2: Tap on General.
  • Step 3: Tap on AirDrop.
  • Step 4: On the next screen, tap on Contacts Only or Receive From.

Bluetooth

  • Step 1: Swipe down from the top to open Control Center.
  • Step 2: Tap on the blue Bluetooth symbol to deactivate this function (white symbol).

In addition to being recognizable by other devices, your iPhone name is recognizable in your iCloud account, iTunes for Windows, Finder on MacOS, etc. You can even see your iPhone’s name using the Find My iPhone app to Find your phone if it’s misplaced, lost, or stolen.